Call Us : 09937373263

Email :

Kalka-Shimla Railway

Kalka Shimla Railway

Kalka-Shimla Railway Kalka-Shimla Railway started in 1903, takes you to a majestic journey that gives you an experience of loyalty mingled with the panoramic vista of mountainous landscape. It offers you a panoramic feast to experience the beauty of the picturesque Himalayas from the Shivalik foot hills at Kalka to several important points such as Solan, Kandaghat, Dharampur, Taradevi, Salogra, Barog, Shimla and beyond up to the silvery snow line near the towering peaks.

Interesting Facts About Kalka-Shimla Railway

Kalka-Shimla-Railway runs through 102 tunnels. The longest tunnel at Barog is named after the engineer who was the in charge of construction; he apparently committed suicide after making a mistake in laying the alignment. This tunnel is 1143.61 meters long and is the second longest tunnel on Indian Railways for a long time. It is a straight tunnel, passing through fissured sand stone.

An interesting feature of the Kalka-Shimla Railway is the almost complete absence of Girder bridges. Here the multi arched galleries like ancient roman aqueducts being the commonest means of carrying the line over the ravines between the hills spur. The entire section has been built with steep slope through the Shivalik ranges.

Another special feature of the Kalka-Shimla Railway is that as many as 27 cutovers serve as different slope crossings. There are 20 intermediate stations, and all have crossing facilities

Route Covered by Kalka-Shimla Railway

Kalka - Barog - Dharampore - Taksai - Gamma - Solan - Shimla.